Du Plessis' rearguard effort sees CSK through to final

Du Plessis' rearguard effort sees CSK through to final

20 off the last over.

"Good to win games like this".

Chennai Super Kings are the only team in the history of the Indian Premier League to reach seven finals.

If it was Carlos Brathwaite for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the first innings, Faf du Plessis (67* off 42 balls) proved to be the saviour for Chennai Super Kings in the chase during the first qualifier of the Indian Premier League 2018, at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Wary of the dew factor later in the evening, Dhoni had earlier opted to field against 2016 champions Hyderabad and paceman Deepak Chahar gave Chennai a flawless start by dismissing opener Shikhar Dhawan for a first ball duck.

In addition, Kane Williamson and team had a great stint with the ball in this season but CSK was the only franchise to hammer them twice this year.

The two-time winners are playing in the IPL for the first time since a two-year suspension for corruption.

Sunrisers will now play the victor of Wednesday's eliminator between Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals to decide who will face Chennai in the final.

It was the Super Kings who halted Sunrisers' six-game winning streak with a comprehensive eight-wicket drubbing on May 13 in Pune. He hung around for nine runs off 18 balls before being bamboozled by a Rashid Khan googly.

On Tuesday, Sunrisers will once again hope that their bowling will do the trick against an in-form Chennai top order comprising the likes of Ambati Rayudu, who has been their standout performer with 586 runs and had in fact taken the game away with a scintillating hundred when the two teams last met.

One change for CSK: Shane Watson is in, Sam Billings is out. With Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar and Dwayne Bravo doing their bit on the pace bowling front, Super Kings will be banking on spin twins Harbhajan Singh and Ravindra Jadeja to deliver in the middle overs.

The match timings for the play-offs have been advanced by one hour, which means the match will start at 7 p.m.

The IPL final is on May 27 at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium with $4 million going to the victor.

Related Articles